Festival
Talleyrand 2017

Music Festival on period instruments

at the château’s Théâtre Empire.

 


Useful information


Dates
From 9 September to 1st October

Hours
Saturday : 9:00 pm
Sunday : 4:00 pm

Place
Théâtre

Price
Concert:
Full price : 20€
Reduced rate : 15€

Castle entrance + concert:
Full price : 28€
Reduced rate : 23€

 

PIERRE HANTAÏ

Saturday 9 September
9:00 pm – Théâtre

Pierre Hantaï, harpsichord

Combining breath-taking virtuosity, architectural rigor, expressive power and scrupulous honesty in front of the score, Pierre Hantaï is one of the top-performing keyboardist and a world-renowned specialist in music by Domenico Scarlatti. He has won several awards including the Diapason d’Or in 2016, Choc de la musique …

Don’t miss a remarkable opening concert.

 

Pierre HANTAÎ

© DR


DOUBLE DOWLAND

Sunday 10 September
4:00 pm – Théâtre

Anne Magouët, soprano
David Chevallier, acoustic guitars, theorbo, arrangements
Bruno Helstroffer, theorbo

Considered the greatest lutenist of his time, John Dowland is best known today for his exceptional talent as a composer. His magnificent melodies have crossed the ages to move us, warm our hearts and intrigue us.

Double Dowland is an optical illusion. It features pieces for voice and lute in their original version, but also highlights their reinterpretation by a composer and improviser, featuring old music that has been transfigured. It is a true re-creation, although the work of Dowland is omnipresent. This optical illusion, where ideas clash and blend, makes it possible to prove that in music a work written more than 400 years ago can interact consistently and imaginatively with the style and expression of today’s musicians.

A recording made at the Abbey of Noirlac and published in 2014 leaves a trace of this intricate piece.

 

David Chevallier is welcomed by the Soufflerie as part of a special project that welcomes artists in order to enhance the cultural program of a certain area, with the support of the Ministry of Culture and Communication and the SACEM.
 

double dowland

© Philippe Annessaut

 


LES LEÇONS DE TÉNÈBRES DE FRANÇOIS COUPERIN

Saturday 16 September
9:00 pm – Church of Valençay

Ensemble Les Paladins
Jean-François Lombard, Romain Champion, tenors
Benjamin Narvey, theorbo
Sylvia Abramowicz
, viola da gamba
Jérôme Correas, harpsichord, organ and direction

François Couperin wrote in 1714 three leçons de ténèbres for the nuns of the Convent of Longchamps, “where they were sung successfully,” he says in his preface. These famous French baroque pieces are the foundation of the music for soprano voice. However, Couperin writes in his preface that “all kinds of voices can sing them, especially as most people today who accompany know how to transpose.”


Les Paladins Ensemble is supported by the Prefecture of the Ile-de-France region, the DRAC Ile-de-France, the Ile-de-France Regional Council, Adami, Spedidam and members of the FEVIS (Fédération des ensembles Vocaux et Instrumentaux Spécialisés).

 

Leçons de ténèbres (en attente ©)


CES LONDONIENS D’AUTRICHE

Sunday 17 September
4:00 pm – Théâtre

Ensemble Pugnani
Lore Hillenhinrich,
flute
Vincent Blanchard, oboe
Joan Herrero, violin and alto
François Koehl, cello
Emmanuel Curial,
violin and direction

Built around the great masters of classical music who lived or stayed in London, such as Mozart, Haydn or Bach’s youngest son Johann-Christian Bach, we will also hear work by Ignace Pleyel, who was not only a composer but also an impresario, publisher and piano maker!

The Pugnani Ensemble is made up of talented musicians including an oboist from Valençay, who made his debut on the stage of this same theatre a few years ago, before traveling the world!

A heart-warming concert in many ways…

 

MAGICIENNES BAROQUES

Saturday 23 September
9:00 pm – Théâtre

Lucile Girardot, soprano
Jean-Luc Hô, harpsichord

Whether we call them magicians, witches, or, to put it more elegantly, enchantresses, whether they are beautiful or ugly, young or old, implacably cruel or charitable, they have never ceased to inspire the finest verses and the most beautiful stanzas, provided that they are ambiguous and mysterious…

True muses of Baroque composers, many operas are based on their legend, developing expressive musical colours mixing pure bliss and free-flowing emotions.

The mezzo-soprano Lucile Richardot, with an enchanting and generous tone, will be accompanied by the talented Jean-Luc Ho, incarnating the rising generation of the French harpsichord.

 

all rights reserved © NEO TONY LEE - http://www.neotonylee.com

© NeO Tony Lee

 

 


DES MAINS DE HAYDN

Sunday 24 September
4:00 pm – Théâtre

Girolamo Bottiglieri, violin
Emmanuel Balssa, cello
Rémy Cardinale, pianoforte

“Dear Beethoven, you are now going to Vienna in fulfilment of your long frustrated wishes. Mozart’s Genius is still mourning and weeping over the death of its pupil. In the inexhaustible Haydn, it had found refuge but no occupation; through him it wishes to form a union with another. Through uninterrupted diligence you shall receive Mozart’s spirit from Haydn’s hands. Bonn, 29 October 1792, your true friend, Waldstein.”

These were the words inscribed on the album given to Beethoven by his friends and patrons on the eve of his departure for Vienna in 1792. This program invites us to the heart of the European musical capital, the day after the death of its greatest creative genius: Mozart. What could a young pianist-composer expect, except to receive “the spirit of Mozart from Haydn’s hands” to be celebrated in turn?

 

This concert will also mark the release of a CD of the same program.

 

Des mains de Haydn ©Robin.H.Davies
© Robin.H.Davies

 


JASMIN TOCCATA

Saturday 30 September
9:00 pm – Théâtre

Thomas Dunford, archlute
Jean Rondeau, harpsichord
Keyvan Chemirani, zarb, santur, artistic direction

Jasmin Toccata is an encounter between the baroque and Oriental world. This program, at times spectacular and virtuoso or sometimes deep and meditative, creates bridges between these musical universes. Thus, the warm sound of the lutes, theorbos and harpsichords are combined with the gentle Persian melodic percussions while the delicacy of Oriental ornaments reflects the skilful diminutions of the Baroque world.

Alternating different pieces from the great old masters, Scarlatti, Purcell, Dowland, and modal compositions of incredibly rich rhythms, these three exceptional artists dazzle us by giving life to a sensual toccata with fragrances of jasmine, dotted with improvisations and wild rhythms.

 
With a compassionate thought for Frédéric Deval, great transmitter of cultures from Royaumont and elsewhere …
 
This show is supported by Production Alto – artistic solutions created during a special program at the Cultural and Meeting Centre of Ambronay with the support of the DRAC Île-de-France, Sacem, Adami and Spedidam.
Projet Artistique de Territoire (PACT) financed by the Centre-Val de Loire region.

© B. Pichère – CCR Ambronay

 


LES COMÉDIES EN PROVERBES

Sunday 1 October
4:00 pm – Théâtre

Les Malins Plaisirs
Marie Loisel, Pierre-Guy Cluzeau, Quentin-Maya Boyé
, comedians

Les Musiciens de Saint-Julien
François Lazarevitch, flutes and bagpipes
Pierre Rigopoulos, percussion

Vincent Tavernier, staging
Erick Plaza-Cochet, costume

Vincent Tavernier summons the audience of Valençay theatre with a game of dramatic proverbs in an 18th century style.

This genre, both unexpected and comical with great creative freedom, unveils a variety of incredibly diverse characters, in all levels of society and in the most random situations.

Rules of the game

Each of the short comedies presented illustrates a well-known, yet more or less explicit, proverb! The author has free reign and may seek to deceive the audience: dual meaning, play on words and tricks are allowed; but he or she may also choose to be perfectly clear. At the end of every plot, it is up to the audience to demonstrate their cleverness and attention to detail by telling the actors which proverb it is …

Les Malins Plaisirs are supported by the Club des Amis des Malins Plaisirs, the Investors’ Circle, the Haut-de-France Regional Council, the Pas-de-Calais Departmental Council, the Deux-Baie Agglomeration Community in Montreullois and the City of the Touquet of Paris-Plage. Projet Artistique de Territoire (PACT) financed by the Centre-Val de Loire Region.

 

BB-Malinsplaisirs-comediesenproverbes-130812-043

© Benoit Bremer

Château de Valençay
2 Rue de Blois, 36600 Valençay
02 54 00 10 66

Festival
Talleyrand 2017

Festival de musique sur instruments anciens
au Théâtre Empire du château.

 


En pratique


Dates
Du 9 septembre au 1er octobre

Horaires
Samedi : 21h
Dimanche : 16h

Lieu
Théâtre

Tarifs
Concert seul :
Plein tarif : 20€
Tarif réduit : 15€

Entrée château + concert :
Plein tarif : 28€
Tarif réduit : 23€

Pass Festival : 105€
Il donne accès à l’ensemble des 8 concerts pour 1 personne.

PIERRE HANTAÏ

Samedi 9 septembre
21h – Théâtre

Pierre Hantaï, clavecin

Alliant virtuosité époustouflante, rigueur architecturale, puissance expressive et honnêteté scrupuleuse face à la partition, Pierre Hantaï s’est hissé au sommet des claviéristes actuels, notamment dans la musique de Domenico Scarlatti dont il est un spécialiste mondialement reconnu et récompensé notamment avec un Diapason d’or de l’année 2016, Choc de la musique …

Un concert d’ouverture magistral, à ne pas manquer.

 

Pierre HANTAÎ

© DR


DOUBLE DOWLAND

Dimanche 10 septembre
16h – Théâtre

Anne Magouët, soprano
David Chevallier, guitares acoustiques, théorbe, arrangements
Bruno Helstroffer, théorbe

Considéré comme le plus grand luthiste de son temps, John Dowland est surtout connu de nos jours pour son exceptionnel talent de compositeur. Ses magnifiques mélodies ont su traverser les âges, pour nous émouvoir, nous réjouir, nous intriguer.

Double Dowland, c’est un jeu de miroirs. D’un côté, ce sont les pièces pour voix et luth, dans leur version originale. De l’autre, c’est un compositeur et improvisateur, qui nous propose sa façon d’interpréter ces pièces, musique d’autrefois transfigurée, véritable re-création, bien que l’œuvre de Dowland soit toujours là, omniprésente. Ce jeu de miroirs, où les reflets s’entrechoquent et se confondent, permet d’affirmer qu’en musique une œuvre écrite il y a plus de 400 ans peut dialoguer avec l’expression d’un musicien d’aujourd’hui, avec cohérence et imagination.

Un enregistrement réalisé à l’abbaye de Noirlac et paru en 2014 laisse une trace de ce travail d’orfèvre.


David Chevallier est accueilli par la Soufflerie dans le cadre du dispositif de résidence de compositeur associé dans une scène pluridisciplinaire, avec le soutien du Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication et de la SACEM.

 

double dowland

© Philippe Annessaut

 


LES LEÇONS DE TÉNÈBRES DE FRANÇOIS COUPERIN

Samedi 16 septembre
21h – Eglise de Valençay

Les Paladins
Jean-François Lombard, Romain Champion, ténors
Benjamin Narvey, théorbe
Sylvia Abramowicz
, viole de gambe
Jérôme Correas, clavecin, orgue et direction

François Couperin écrit en 1714 trois leçons de ténèbres pour les religieuses du couvent de Longchamp, « où elles furent chantées avec succès », indique-t-il dans sa préface. Ces pièces célébrissimes du répertoire baroque français résonnent pour nous comme la quintessence même de la musique pour voix de soprano. Mais l’on sait moins que Couperin écrit dans sa préface que « toutes espèces de voix peuvent les chanter, d’autant que la plupart des personnes d’aujourd’hui qui accompagnent savent transposer ».


Les Paladins sont soutenus par la Préfecture de la région Île-de-France, par la DRAC Ile-de-France, le Conseil Régional d’Ile-de-France, l’Adami, la Spedidam et les membres de la FEVIS (Fédération des Ensembles Vocaux et Instrumentaux Spécialisés).

 

Leçons de ténèbres (en attente ©)


CES LONDONIENS D’AUTRICHE

Dimanche 17 septembre
16h – Théâtre

Ensemble Pugnani
Lore Hillenhinrich,
flûte
Vincent Blanchard, hautbois
Joan Herrero, violon et alto
François Koehl, violoncelle
Emmanuel Curial,
violon et direction

Construit autour de grands maîtres de la musique classique habitant ou ayant séjourné à Londres, tels Mozart, Haydn ou le dernier fils de Bach, Johann-Christian Bach, nous entendrons aussi une oeuvre d’Ignace Pleyel, qui fut non seulement compositeur mais aussi organisateur de concerts, éditeur et facteur de piano !

L’Ensemble Pugnani compte parmi ses excellents musiciens un hautboïste valencéen, ayant débuté sur les planches de ce même théâtre il y a quelques années, avant de parcourir le monde !

Un concert touchant à plusieurs titres …

 

MAGICIENNES BAROQUES

Samedi 23 septembre
21h – Théâtre

Lucile Richardot, mezzo-soprano
Jean-Luc Hô, clavecin

Qu’on les nomme magiciennes, sorcières, ou plus joliment enchanteresses, qu’elles soient belles ou laides, jeunes ou vieilles, implacablement cruelles ou charitables, elles n’ont cessé d’inspirer les plus beaux vers, les plus belles stances, pourvu qu’elles soient ambiguës et mystérieuses…

Véritables muses des compositeurs baroques, de nombreux opéras se sont basés sur leur légende, développant des couleurs musicales expressives mêlant extase et ivresse des sentiments.

La mezzo-soprano Lucile Richardot, au timbre troublant et généreux, sera accompagnée du talentueux Jean-Luc Ho, incarnant la génération montante du clavecin français.

 

all rights reserved © NEO TONY LEE - http://www.neotonylee.com

© NeO Tony Lee

 

 


DES MAINS DE HAYDN

Dimanche 24 septembre
16h – Théâtre

Girolamo Bottiglieri, violon
Emmanuel Balssa, violoncelle
Rémy Cardinale, pianoforte

“Cher Beethoven, vous allez maintenant à Vienne réaliser des souhaits longtemps inassouvis. Le génie de Mozart est encore en deuil et pleure la mort de son disciple. En l’inépuisable Haydn, il a trouvé un refuge, mais non une occupation; par lui, il désire encore une fois être uni à quelqu’un. Par une application incessante, recevez l’esprit de Mozart des mains de Haydn. Bonn, le 29 octobre 1792, votre véritable ami, Waldstein.”

Tels étaient les mots inscrits sur l’album donné par ses amis et mécènes à Beethoven, la veille de son départ pour Vienne en 1792. Ce programme nous invite au coeur de la capitale musicale européenne, au lendemain de la mort de son plus grand génie créateur : Mozart. Que pouvait donc espérer un jeune pianiste – compositeur, si ce n’est de recevoir “l’esprit de Mozart des mains de Haydn” pour être célébré à son tour ?


Ce concert sera l’occasion de la sortie d’un CD du même programme.

 

Des mains de Haydn ©Robin.H.Davies
© Robin.H.Davies

 


JASMIN TOCCATA

Samedi 30 septembre
21h – Théâtre

Thomas Dunford, archiluth
Jean Rondeau, clavecin
Keyvan Chemirani, zarb, santour, direction artistique

Jasmin Toccata est une rencontre entre le monde baroque et celui de la modalité orientale. Ce programme tantôt spectaculaire et virtuose, tantôt profond et méditatif, crée des passerelles entre ces univers musicaux. Ainsi, les timbres chaleureux des luth, théorbe, clavecin, s’unissent aux douces percussions mélodiques persanes, et la délicatesse des ornementations orientales fait écho aux diminutions savantes du monde baroque.

Alternant pièces des grands maitres anciens, Scarlatti, Purcell, Dowland, et compositions modales d’une grande richesse rythmique, ces trois artistes d’exception nous éblouissent en donnant vie à une toccata jouissive et sensuelle, aux fragrances de jasmin, parsemée d’improvisations et de rythmes endiablés.


Avec une pensée émue pour Frédéric Deval, grand passeur transculturel de Royaumont et d’ailleurs …
 
Ce spectacle est soutenu par la Production Alto – solutions artistiques créée en résidence au Centre culturel de rencontre d’Ambronay avec le soutien de la DRAC Île-de-France, la Sacem, l’Adami et la Spedidam.
Projet Artistique de Territoire (PACT) financé par la Région Centre-Val de Loire

© B. Pichère – CCR Ambronay

LES COMÉDIES EN PROVERBES

Dimanche 1er octobre
16h – Théâtre

Les Malins Plaisirs
Marie Loisel, Pierre-Guy Cluzeau, Quentin-Maya Boyé
, comédiens

Les Musiciens de Saint-Julien
François Lazarevitch, flûtes et cornemuses
Pierre Rigopoulos, percussions

Vincent Tavernier, mise en scène
Erick Plaza-Cochet, costumes

A la façon du XVIIIe siècle, Vincent Tavernier convoque le public du théâtre de Valençay avec un jeu de proverbes dramatiques …

Ce genre à la fois inattendu, cocasse et d’une très grande liberté, dévoile une galerie de personnages incroyablement divers, à tous les étages de la société, et dans les situations les plus variées.

Règle du jeu

Chacune des courtes comédies présentées illustre un proverbe connu – de façon, à vrai dire, plus ou moins explicite ! L’auteur a en effet tous les droits, et peut chercher à tromper son public : double sens, jeux de mots et fausses pistes sont autorisés; mais cela peut aussi être, au contraire, d’une parfaite limpidité. A l’issue de chaque intrigue, c’est donc aux spectateurs de prouver leur astuce et leur attention en indiquant aux comédiens quel est le proverbe …

Les Malins Plaisirs sont soutenus par le Club des Amis des Malins Plaisirs, le Cercle des Investisseurs, le Conseil Régional Haut-de-France, le Conseil Départemental du Pas-de-Calais, la Communauté d’Agglomération des Deux Baies en Montreullois et la Ville du Touquet du Paris-plage.
Projet Artistique de Territoire (PACT) financé par la Région Centre-Val de Loire

 

BB-Malinsplaisirs-comediesenproverbes-130812-043

© Benoit Bremer

 

 

Château de Valençay
2 Rue de Blois, 36600 Valençay
02 54 00 10 66