Jack et le haricot magique

A musical puppet show based on the traditional English tale of Jack and the Beanstalk, with 17th century English songs collected and edited by John Playford and the visual world of Walter Crane (1845-1915), artist and founding member of the Arts & Crafts movement.

 


Useful information


Date
3 May

Hours
2:30 p.m.

Place
Théâtre

Rates
Full price : 10€
Reduced rate (from 4 years old) : 8€

Visit castle + show
Full price : 18€
Reduced rate : 16€

Ensemble La Rêveuse
Florence Bolton et Benjamin Perrot, musicians
Kristof Le Garff, puppeteer

Like the old-fashioned street artists who went from place to place to tell their stories, this musical performance uses different puppetry techniques (hand puppets, rod puppets and muppets), a theatre of objects, masks, images and a magic traveling theatre.

Through this tale, La Rêveuse ensemble and puppeteer Kristof Legarff chose to focus on various aspects of England. English, Irish and Scottish dance tunes from the 17th century will be played on baroque instruments (viola, cittern, lute …) using punctual electronic effects.

Jack lives in poverty with his mother on a small remote farm. One day, her mother asks him to go to town and sell their old milk cow. On the way, Jack exchanges his cow for “magic” beans, which grow all the way up to the sky in just one night. He climbs the bean stalk and discovers the house of an ogre. With the help of the wife, he manages to hide. But as soon as the ogre falls asleep, Jack escapes while stealing a sack of gold from him. He returns to the ogre’s house twice to steal his goose that lays golden eggs and his magic harp. He kills the giant who is chasing him by cutting down the bean stalk. He and his mother now rich thanks to the goose with the golden eggs and live happily ever after.

 

The group is assisted by the Ministry of Culture and Communication (DRAC Centre) and the Centre-Val de Loire Region through a number of grants for approved ensembles, as well as by the city of Orléans.

 

Château de Valençay
2 Rue de Blois, 36600 Valençay
02 54 00 10 66

Jack et le haricot magique

Spectacle musical de marionnettes, d’après le conte traditionnel anglo-saxon Jack and the Beanstalk autour des airs à danser anglais du 17e siècle, collectés et édités par John Playford, et l’univers visuel de l’artiste Walter Crane (1845-1915), membre fondateur du mouvement Arts&Crafts.


En pratique


Date
3 mai
Des séances pour les scolaires sont programmées les 2 et 4 mai.
En savoir plus

Horaire
14h30

Lieu
Théâtre

Tarifs
Plein tarif : 10€
Tarif réduit (à partir de 4 ans) : 8€

Entrée château + spectacle
Plein tarif : 18€
Entrée château + spectacle
Tarif réduit : 16€

 

Réservez dès maintenant vos places
en cliquant ici

 

Ensemble La Rêveuse
Florence Bolton et Benjamin Perrot, musiciens
Kristof Le Garff, marionnettiste

Comme les baladins des temps anciens qui allaient de place en place raconter leurs histoires, ce spectacle musical fait appel à différentes techniques de marionnettes (gaine, marionnette à tige et muppet), théâtre d’objets, masques, images et chariot-castelet magique.

A travers ce conte, l’ensemble La Rêveuse et le marionnettiste Kristof Legarff ont choisi de s’intéresser à divers aspects de l’Angleterre. Des airs à danser anglais, irlandais et écossais du XVIIe siècle seront joués sur des instruments baroques (dessus de viole, cistre, luth…) en utilisant ponctuellement des effets électroniques.

Jack vit dans la pauvreté avec sa mère dans une petite ferme éloignée. Un jour, leur vieille vache ne donnant plus de lait, sa mère lui demande d’aller la vendre en ville. Sur le chemin, Jack échange sa vache contre des haricots “magiques”, qui poussent en une nuit jusqu’au ciel. Il y grimpe et découvre la maison d’un ogre. Aidé par la femme de celui-ci, il parvient à se cacher. Mais dès que l’ogre s’endort, Jack s’échappe en lui volant un sac d’or. Il retourne deux fois encore dans la maison de l’ogre pour lui dérober sa poule aux œufs d’or et sa harpe magique. Il tue le géant qui le poursuit en coupant la tige du haricot. Sa mère et lui vivent désormais heureux et dans l’aisance grâce à la poule aux œufs d’or.

 

L’ensemble reçoit le soutien du Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication (DRAC Centre) et de la Région Centre-Val de Loire au titre de l’aide aux ensembles conventionnés, ainsi que la ville d’Orléans.

 

Château de Valençay
2 Rue de Blois, 36600 Valençay
02 54 00 10 66