Christophe Rousset in Recital

Saturday, September 7

9:00 p.m, Theater

Christophe Rousset, harpsichord


Useful information


Date
Saturday 7 September

Hours
9:00 p.m.

Place
Theatre

Rates
Concert alone :
Full Price : 20€
Reduced rate : 15€

Castle entrance + concert :
Full Price : 28€
Reduced rate : 23€

The opening concert of this year’s Talleyrand Festival will feature the very famous and talented harpsichordist Christophe Rousset in a recital of the work of François Couperin. 

The founder of the ensemble Les Talens Lyriques and internationally-renowned harpsichordist Christophe Rousset is a musician and conductor who has been inspired by his passion for the opera and for rediscovering Europe’s musical heritage. 
He studied the harpsichord at the Schola Cantorum in Paris with Huguette Dreyfus and then at the Royal Conservatoire in The Hague with Bob Asperen (where, at the age of 22, he won the prestigious 1st Prize at the 7th harpsichord competition in Bruges), after which he created his own ensemble, Les Talens Lyriques, in 1991. This career path has given Christophe Rousset an excellent grasp on the full wealth and diversity of Baroque, Classical and Pre-Romantic repertoires.

Christophe Rousset is now invited to perform around the world with Les Talens Lyriques, at the Paris Opera, the Dutch National Opera, the Concertgebouw Amsterdam, the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées, the Philharmonie de Paris, and the list goes on.

In parallel, he has had an active career as a harpsichordist and chamber music artist, playing and recording the most beautiful historical instruments.

The educational dimension is of capital importance to Christophe Rousset, who runs and leads master classes and youth academies at the Chigiana Academy, the Conservatoire de Paris, the Ambronay Academy, OFJ Baroque, and more. He also devotes his time and energy to introducing middle-school students in Paris and Ile-de-France to music, alongside the musicians of Les Talens Lyriques.

Finally, Christophe Rousset has pursued a career as a guest conductor at Trondheim Barrok, Liceu Opera Barcelona, Teatro di San Carlo in Naples, La Scala in Milan, the Opéra Royal de Wallonie, and more. He also works on musical research and writing, through critical editions and the publication of monographs devoted to Rameau (2007, Actes Sud) and François Couperin (2016, Actes Sud). In 2017, a book of his interviews by Camille de Rijck, talking about music, was released. L’impression que l’instrument chante (La Rue Musicale Collection).

Christophe Rousset is a Knight of the Legion of Honor, Commander of the Order of Arts and Letters and a Knight of the National Order of Merit.

 

 

Château de Valençay
2 Rue de Blois, 36600 Valençay
02 54 00 10 66

Christophe Rousset en récital

Samedi 7 septembre 2019

21h, Théâtre 

Christophe Rousset, clavecin


En pratique


Date
Samedi 7 septembre 2019

Horaire
21h

Lieu
Théâtre

Tarifs
Concert seul :
Plein tarif : 20€
Tarif réduit : 15€

Entrée château + concert :
Plein tarif : 28€
Tarif réduit : 23€

Pass Festival : 105€
Il donne accès à l’ensemble des 8 concerts pour 1 personne.

Pour son concert d’ouverture, le Festival Talleyrand accueillera le très célèbre et talentueux claveciniste Christophe Rousset, dans un récital autour de l’œuvre de François Couperin. 

Fondateur de l’ensemble Les Talens Lyriques et claveciniste internationalement reconnu, Christophe Rousset est un musicien et chef d’orchestre inspiré par sa passion pour l’opéra et la redécouverte du patrimoine musical européen.
L’étude du clavecin à la Schola Cantorum de Paris avec Huguette Dreyfus, puis au Conservatoire Royal de la Haye avec Bob Asperen (il remporte à 22 ans le prestigieux 1er Prix du 7e concours de clavecin de Bruges), suivie de la création de son propre ensemble, Les Talens Lyriques, en 1991, permettent à Christophe Rousset d’appréhender parfaitement la richesse et la diversité des répertoires baroque, classique et préromantique.

Christophe Rousset est aujourd’hui invité à se produire avec Les Talens Lyriques dans le monde entier : Opéra de Paris, Opéra national des Pays-Bas, Concertgebouw Amsterdam, Théâtre des Champs-Elysées, Philharmonie de Paris …

Parallèlement, il poursuit une carrière active de claveciniste et de chambriste en se produisant et en enregistrant sur les plus beaux instruments historiques.

La dimension pédagogique revêt une importance capitale pour Christophe Rousset qui dirige et anime des master classes et académies de jeunes : Accademia Chigiana, CNSMD de Paris, Académie d’Ambronay, OFJ Baroque …. Il s’investit également avec énergie aux côtés des musiciens des Talens Lyriques dans l’initiation de jeunes collégiens de Paris et d’Île de France à la musique

Christophe Rousset poursuit enfin une carrière de chef invité : Orchestre Trondheim Barrok, Liceu Barcelone, San Carlo de Naples, la Scala de Milan, Opéra Royal de Wallonie … Il se consacre également à la recherche musicale et à l’écriture, à travers des éditions critiques et la publication de monographies consacrées à Rameau (2007, Actes Sud) et à François Couperin (2016, Actes Sud). En 2017, paraît un livre d’entretiens sur la musique réalisé par Camille de Rijck : « L’impression que l’instrument chante » (La Rue Musicale).

Christophe Rousset est Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur, Commandeur des Arts et des Lettres et Chevalier de l’Ordre national du Mérite.

 

Château de Valençay
2 Rue de Blois, 36600 Valençay
02 54 00 10 66