ACTIVITÉS

Du Louvre à Valençay,
1939-1946

From 19th May to 11th november 2021

The new exhibition at the Château de Valençay explores a little-known facet of its history. During World War II, the Duke of Valençay made his property available to the national museums, to shelter works of art from the Louvre. Like Chambord, Cheverny, Montal and Sourches, Valençay was one of the main storehouses outside of Paris, in areas chosen for their isolation.

The Venus de Milo, the Winged Victory of Samothrace and Michelangelo’s Slaves were just some of the monumental sculptures that the château was able to accommodate, thanks to its expansive proportions. Near all of the Louvre’s statuary was sheltered there throughout the war, alongside collections from Fontainebleau and the Guimet and Malmaison Museums.

The exhibition examines the history and life of Valençay’s art storehouse, as well as the daily lives of the Louvre curators who stayed at the château, rubbing elbows with Duke Boson de Talleyrand-Périgord and his inner circle. It also retraces the threats to the art’s safety, as the enemy forces advanced.

The unsettling and chaotic staging by Florient Azoulay immerses visitors in the atmosphere of emergency that preceded the evacuation of the pieces from France’s major museums. Work from the collections, archived documents, unique objects, photographs and music intertwine, between absence and accumulation, to arouse emotions and questions about the importance of art in our society.

entrance to the requisitioned Valençay castle

 


Collective curator of the exhibition

Scientific direction
Anne Gérardot

Research and documentation
Manon Beulay

Artistic direction
Florient Azoulay

Drafting of panels
Manon Beulay, Fanny Chauffeteau

Graphic design
Benoit Böhnke, Cyril Makhoul

General coordination
Sylvie Giroux

Musical creation
Olivier Innocenti


To know more (only in French)

Cahier n°3
L’exil des chefs d’œuvre du Louvre

Download

Le Clou de l’exposition

Download

ACTIVITÉS

Du Louvre à Valençay,
1939-1946

Exposition du 19 mai au 11 novembre 2021

La nouvelle exposition du château de Valençay explore un pan peu connu de son histoire. Durant la seconde guerre mondiale, le duc de Valençay mit son domaine à la disposition des musées nationaux pour abriter les œuvres du Louvre. Comme Chambord, Cheverny, Montal ou Sourches, Valençay fut l’un des principaux dépôts implantés en province dans des zones choisies pour leur isolement.

La Vénus de Milo, la Victoire de Samothrace, Les esclaves de Michel-Ange… autant de sculptures monumentales que le château était en mesure d’accueillir grâce à ses vastes proportions. La quasi-totalité de la statuaire du Louvre y trouva refuge durant tout le conflit, voisinant avec des collections provenant de Fontainebleau, du Musée Guimet ou encore de la Malmaison.

L’exposition aborde l’histoire et la vie du dépôt de Valençay ainsi que le quotidien des conservateurs du Louvre qui séjournèrent au château et côtoyèrent le duc Boson de Talleyrand-Périgord et ses proches. Elle retrace aussi les menaces qui pesèrent sur la sécurité des œuvres à mesure de l’avancée des troupes ennemies.

La scénographie troublante et chaotique de Florient Azoulay immerge les visiteurs dans l’atmosphère d’urgence qui précéda l’évacuation des œuvres des grands musées français. Œuvres des collections, documents d’archives, objets insolites, photographies et création musicale s’entremêlent entre absence et accumulation, pour susciter émotion et interrogation sur l’importance de l’art dans notre société.

Entrée du château de Valençay réquisitionné

 


Commissariat collectif de l’exposition

Direction scientifique
Anne Gérardot

Recherches et documentation
Manon Beulay

Direction artistique
Florient Azoulay

Rédaction des panneaux
Manon Beulay, Fanny Chauffeteau

Conception graphique 
Benoit Böhnke, Cyril Makhoul

Coordination générale
Sylvie Giroux

Création musicale 
Olivier Innocenti


Pour en savoir plus

Cahier n°3
L’exil des chefs d’œuvre du Louvre

Téléchargez

Le Clou de l’exposition

Télécharger