Talleyrand Festival

After its fourth edition, the 2019 Talleyrand Festival will take place every weekend from September 7 to 29. This music festival featuring ancient instruments, launched in 2014, is becoming a major event, with a loyal audience.



 


Useful information


Dates
From 7 to 29 september

Hours
Saturday : 9:00 p.m.
Sunday : 4:00 p.m.

Place
Theatre – Church of Valençay

Rates
Concert alone :
Full price : 20€
Reduced rate : 15€

Castle entrance + concert :
Full price : 28€
Reduced rate : 23€

Festival Pass : 105€

The artistic vitality of Château de Valençay is evident, through its historical facilities like the theater and all the period decor from the First Empire, but also in its extraordinary potential and its geographic location, which provide the region with artistic fuel, like a spearhead for a high-level cultural policy.

Live performances are the heart of this project, combining theater, music and dance, in all their various expressions.

All year long, the château’s multidisciplinary artistic calendar strives for excellence, in both the pieces presented and the guest performers and creators, and is open to all ages.

The Talleyrand Festival is line with that intention, allowing attendees to see, hear and discover pieces and creators, with the idea of promoting architectural, musical and theatrical heritage. It takes place in the 100-seat theater, over four weekends in September and October, putting on daytime and evening shows.

For its first edition in 2014, the festival paid tribute to its illustrious namesake, Charles-Maurice de Talleyrand-Périgord, by scheduling pieces that could be heard in the salons of Paris and Vienna in the 19th century.

Artists like the young ensemble Les Emportés, international performers like Guido Balestracci and Denis Raisin-Dadre, rare instruments like the arpeggione and the csakan, great classics by Molière and Rameau, and the reproduction of an opéra comique by Dalayrac were all discovered there.

During the second edition in 2016, the program leaned toward music made with ancient instruments, which are rarely played or taught in the region, as a supplement to the departmental artistic calendar taking place in the fall. In an echo to the château’s collections, ancient keyboards were honored with international performers like Kenneth Weiss, Béatrice Martin and Pierre Goy, in a celebration of the release of pianoforte recordings made at the theater, in partnership with the Museum of Music in Paris. For the third edition in 2017, the festival hosted some 30 artists over four weekends, with diverse repertoires, all based on the use of ancient instruments. During that time, the stage of the Valençay Theater hosted Pierre Hantaï, Les Paladins, the Ensemble Pugnani, Thomas Dunford, Jean Rondeau, David Chevallier and François Lazarevitch.


Program

 

Saturday, September 7
Opening Recital
Christophe Rousset

 

Sunday, September 8t
The Golden Age of the Oboe Band
Tibiades Ensemble

 

Saturday, September 14
What is our life ? … music for private use
Le Concert des Planètes

 

Sunday, September 15
The Seven-League Boots
Ensemble Artifices

 

Saturday, September 21
The Secret Music of Leonardo da Vinci
Ensemble Doulce Mémoire

 

Sunday, September 22
Interpretation
Florient Azoulay
Joël Grare

Saturday, September 28
Under the Greenwood tree
Cairn Ensemble

 

Sunday, September 29
Along the Loire
Ensemble Jacques Moderne

Château de Valençay
2 Rue de Blois, 36600 Valençay
02 54 00 10 66

Festival Talleyrand

Fort de sa quatrième édition, le Festival Talleyrand 2019 se tiendra du 7 au 29 septembre, les week-ends. Ce festival de musique sur instruments anciens, débuté en 2014, devient un rendez-vous incontournable avec un public fidèle. 

 


En pratique


Dates
Du 7 au 29 septembre 2019

Horaires
Samedi : 21h
Dimanche : 16h

Lieux
Théâtre – Eglise de Valençay

Tarifs
Concert seul :
Plein tarif : 20€
Tarif réduit : 15€

Entrée château + concert :
Plein tarif : 28€
Tarif réduit : 23€

Pass Festival : 105€
Il donne accès à l’ensemble des 8 concerts pour 1 personne.

La vitalité artistique du Château de Valençay est une évidence, tant par son équipement historique avec le théâtre et l’ensemble de ses décors d’époque
1er Empire, mais aussi par son potentiel exceptionnel et son positionnement géographique qui permet d’alimenter artistiquement un territoire, comme fer de lance d’une politique culturelle de haut niveau.

Le spectacle vivant est donc au cœur du projet mêlant théâtre, musique et danse, dans leur diversité d’expression.

Tout au long de l’année, la programmation artistique pluridisciplinaire vise l’excellence tant par les œuvres que par les interprètes et créateurs qui sont invités, et concerne tous les publics.

Le Festival Talleyrand répond à cette intention, donner à voir, à entendre, à découvrir des œuvres et des auteurs dans l’idée de la valorisation du patrimoine architectural, musical et théâtral. Il se déroule de septembre à octobre sur quatre week-ends au Théâtre avec une jauge de 100 places et propose des spectacles en soirée et en journée.

Pour sa première édition en 2014, le Festival a rendu hommage à son illustre personnage Charles-Maurice de Talleyrand-Périgord en programmant des œuvres que l’on pouvait entendre dans les salons à Paris ou à Vienne au XIXe siècle.

Des artistes, comme le jeune ensemble Les Emportés, aux artistes internationaux tels que Guido Balestracci, Denis Raisin-Dadre, des instruments rares comme l’arpeggione ou le csakan, des grands classiques de Molière ou Rameau à la recréation d’un opéra-comique de Dalayrac, ont pu être découverts.

Lors de la seconde édition en 2016, la proposition s’oriente vers la musique sur instruments anciens, dont la pratique et l’enseignement sur le territoire sont plutôt rares, complétant ainsi l’offre artistique départementale et se déroulant à l’automne. En écho aux collections du château, les claviers anciens seront à l’honneur avec des interprètes internationaux comme Kenneth Weiss, Béatrice Martin ou Pierre Goy avec lequel sera fêtée la sortie d’enregistrements sur pianoforte réalisés au Théâtre, en partenariat avec le Musée de la musique de Paris. Pour sa troisième édition en 2017, le festival a accueilli une trentaine d’artistes sur quatre week-ends, autour de répertoires variés, mais toujours basés sur la pratique d’instruments anciens. Les planches du Théâtre de Valençay ont ainsi accueilli Pierre Hantaï, Les Paladins, l’ensemble Pugnani, Thomas Dunford, Jean Rondeau, David Chevallier ou encore François Lazarevitch.


Programmation saison 2019

Samedi 7 septembre
Récital d’ouverture
Christophe Rousset

 

Dimanche 8 septembre
L’âge d’or de la bande de hautbois
Ensemble Tibiades

 

Samedi 14 septembre
What is our life ? … music for private use
Le Concert des Planètes

 

Dimanche 15 septembre
Les Bottes de sept lieues
Ensemble Artifices

 

Samedi 21 septembre
Léonard de Vinci, la musique secrète
Ensemble Doulce Mémoire

 

Dimanche 22 septembre
Lecture
Florient Azoulay
Joël Grare

Samedi 28 septembre
Under the Greenwood tree
Ensemble Cairn

 

Dimanche 29 septembre
Au long de la Loire
Ensemble Jacques Moderne

Château de Valençay
2 Rue de Blois, 36600 Valençay
02 54 00 10 66