Prince de Talleyrand

From the Art of Living to the Art of Diplomacy

Cultivated and highly intelligent, Prince de Talleyrand was a very gifted and versatile man. Well known for his involvement in events that occurred in France from the revolutionary period to the reign of Louis-Philippe, he was also a great active and influential lord in his domain of Valençay.

Talleyrand,
became Prince of Benevento, the name of a city taken from the Pope, in 1806. Copy of a portrait by François Gérard, in 1808.

Outraged by the way Napoléon treated the vanquished nations in the Treaty of Tilsit, which he did not actually write, Talleyrand resigned from his position as “unemployed Foreign Minister”. A year later in September 1808, the emperor hired Talleyrand to assist him at the Congress of Erfurt with the Tsar of Russia. Bad idea. Talleyrand wrecked the negotiations and explained that by manipulating the two crowned heads to maintain the European balance, he had “saved Europe from a complete upheaval.”

A key player in the history of France and Europe, Talleyrand will forever be a fascinating controversial figure. So much for his great diplomatic skills as for his amazing ability to adjust to different regimes that occupied the political scene of his time.
Distancing himself from those in power as soon as he thought the worst hit, he willingly supported the monarchy, Revolution, Directory, Consultate, the first Restoration and the July Monarchy. This man also had a wonderful sense of humor, for he once said: “I have not abandoned any government before it abandoned itself.”

descriptif gŽnŽral et tournage TV 02 2014

Catherine Grand,
lover and wife of Talleyrand.
Copy of her portrait by Elisabeth Vigée-Lebrun.

Smarter than most people thought, the beautiful Catherine had an adventurous life of a divorced women and then settled down before seducing Charles-Maurice during the time of the Directory. Naturally, some doors were closed to her for the sake of morality, and the reasons for which Napoleon’s Minister married her in 1802 remain the subject of debate for historians. Their union was never recognized by the Pope and they decided to legally separate during the Restoration.

Although Charles-Maurice’s ability to anticipate most likely saved his life and allowed him to pursue a long and brilliant diplomatic career that eventually made him famous, he was unable to convince the leaders of his time. In addition to his ability to adapt to the alternating regimes, he always tried to express his own personal political thought. Hostile towards absolutism, censorship, regulations that hindered the development of France and war, his ideas were rooted in the philosophy of the Enlightenment. These ideas carried the excitement from previous decades before the Revolution (in 1789, when he was 35 years old) in all directions and influenced his youth and training.  Cultural, intellectual, economic, administrative and scientific enthusiasm, while for the first time, the French population rose from 22 million under the reign of Louis XIV to 28.5 million under the reign of Louis XVI.

Curious about everything, Talleyrand was an 18th century type of liberal, in that he defended the freedom to learn, think, speak, trade and seek the best life possible. This “art of living” before the French Revolution that he searched for his entire life required a significant amount of wealth. Born to a poor aristocratic family, Charles-Maurice had been interested in financial issues since he was a young boy. Through visits with entrepreneurs and bankers, his position as agent-general of the clergy and his work with Minister Calonne on the disastrous finances of the State, he became a great businessman who never hesitated to invest in companies or take a chance on real estate. Foreign Minister under several regimes, he coordinated negotiations to benefit both parties, practicing the “art of diplomacy” that we might call today the “art of bribing”. His self-made fortune allowed him to live lavishly. And also acquire, embellish and maintain an area as important as that of Valençay.

The Theatre
a beautifully preserved treasure.

At the request of Emperor Napoleon, Talleyrand built a theatre, inaugurated on 30 March 1810, to entertain the princes of Spain in assigned residence in Valençay. It hosted many performances. The music was provided by Jan-Ladislav Dussek (1760-1812), a famous Czech composer and great European artist.

In this theatre unique in the Loire Valley, sets and backdrops were also preserved.
The Talleyrand Festival is held here every two years.

 

On a princely land…
Napoleon takes princes as prisoners.

Acquired in 1803, at the request and with the financial assistance of Bonaparte, based on what Dorothea of Courland will eventually bring later on, the area of 12,000 hectares then included the châteaux of Valençay, Luçay and Veuil.

Talleyrand seldom visited his domain after he acquired it because the Emperor monopolized his time and brought him along on his European expeditions. Nevertheless, he continued to renovate it and eventually built servants’ quarters and rearranged the gardens, park and vegetable patch. In turbulent times during the Peninsular War, which he openly disapproved after encouraging it, he returned home, still by order of the Emperor, to host the princes of Spain, as a prison guard! As part of his job, he made strict regulations that required perfect knowledge of proper etiquette. He cared about their comfort and entertainment, throughout their six years of captivity, even though he was often absent and had no affinity with them. Yet it was for them, and on the suggestion of Napoleon, that he built the theatre that can be visited today.

 

1817. Talleyrand wrote
to the Duke of Montmorency:
“It is not rest that I need, but freedom.
To do what one wants, to think what one pleases, to follow one’s heart instead of seeking one’s way: that’s the true rest I need and I have found it here.”

Dorothea of Courland,
Duchess of Dino,
was the beloved and esteemed friend of Charles-Maurice de Talleyrand.
Portrait by Joseph Chabord.

Thirty nine years apart, she was the wife of Edmond, the nephew of Charles-Maurice, who was her mother’s lover. But at the Congress of Vienna, where she represented her uncle’s embassy, love triumphed over all. A few months after returning to France, this beautiful and well-educated woman, who was considered a “mastermind” by several contemporaries, soon became his companion, his most beloved friend and his most trusted advisor in several areas, including diplomatic affairs. Aside from a few passionate liaisons, she stayed by his side until his death, for he was the only man who truly understood and protected her.

 

The return of Charles-Maurice: Freedom in Valençay!

Dismissed from office by Louis XVIII for crime of liberal opinion, despite all the services he provided, Talleyrand returned to Valençay during the Restoration. From then on, except during his mission in England for Louis-Philippe, he spent every summer and autumn here until the opening of the chambers.

Always very active and resourceful, he took care of his estate, hosted friends, read, wrote and meditated. This man, who contributed to the rise of Napoleon Bonaparte and the Bourbon Restoration, who saved France from an imminent disaster at the Congress of Vienna, was continuously obsessed by an idea of which he had tried to convince Louis XVI. An idea against the Emperor’s desire for power and victory. Against the present and future temptation of absolute rule by the king and his ignorant partisans. This idea that encouraged the establishment of a constitutional and diplomatic monarchy, as in the case of Great Britain, did not appeal to government leaders who had to resort to his services. However, his desire for freedom, justice and prosperity, already present among Talleyrand’s favorite philosophers such as Montesquieu and Voltaire, found fertile ground in the vast estate of Valençay. In 1825, the prefect of Indre wrote to his minister: “There are no beggars or poor people in Valençay for Prince de Talleyrand established workshops where there is work for people of all ages.” Talleyrand also handed out different types of assistance. A charity office and a house of charity, where religious sisters taught young girls, helped the sick. Donated land to build a town hall, a legal institution, a school for boys… Certainly, this was still far from the equality described in the Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen, of which he wrote article 6. However, it reflects this stoic man’s awareness and conviction in public life. A man exposed by his artistic and literary tastes and whose quick mind, eloquence and delicate way of expressing his emotions captivated his closest friends.

Some key points
in his long career

2 février 1754
Born in Paris into an aristocratic family. His parents had important responsibilities in the Court of Louis xv. Born with a club-foot, caused by a birth defect (Marfan syndrome).

1769
Stripped of his birthright by his parents due to his disability, he was preordained to the priesthood instead of being lead towards a military career.

1788
Appointed Bishop of Autun and representative of the clergy at the Estates General where he became a member of the Constitution Committee of the National Assembly.

1792-1796
Diplomat in London, returned to France, left again and retired to the United States in 1794.

1797
Minister of Foreign Affairs of the French Directory.

1799-1806
Took part in the coup d’état of 18 Brumaire. Minister of Foreign Affairs under the Consulat and then the French Empire. Appointed Grand Chamberlain of Napoleon and given the title Prince of Benevento..

1807-1814
Relationship with Napoleon started
to decline. Abandoned his portfolio. Became the advisor of Louis xviii, president of the temporary government, finalised the Constitutional Charter, and appointed Minister of Foreign Affairs. 

1814-1815
Negotiated for France
at the Congress of Vienna.

1815
President of the council under the Second Restoration. “Fired” by Louis XVIII.

1830-1834
Appointed ambassador in London
by King Louis-Philippe. Took part
in the creation of Belgium. Signed
the treaty of alliance between Spain, Portugal, England and France.

17 mai 1838
Died in Paris.
Funeral service held in Valençay.

 

“I have in me something unexplainable. I seem to bring misfortune to governments who ignore me”
— Talleyrand

Château de Valençay
2 Rue de Blois, 36600 Valençay
02 54 00 10 66

Le prince de Talleyrand

De la douceur de vivre aux douceurs diplomatiques

Cultivé et supérieurement intelligent, le prince de Talleyrand est un homme à facettes. Bien connu pour sa participation aux événements qui se sont succédés en France depuis la période révolutionnaire jusqu’au règne de Louis-Philippe, il a aussi été, dans son domaine de Valençay, un grand seigneur actif et influent.

Talleyrand,
devenu en 1806, prince de Bénévent, du nom d’un Etat confisqué au pape.
Copie du portrait réalisé par François Gérard, en 1808

Indigné par le traitement réservé par Napoléon aux vaincus du traité de Tilsit, qu’il n’a d’ailleurs pas rédigé, Talleyrand lui a donné sa démission de « ministre des Relations extérieures sans emploi ». Un an plus tard, en septembre 1808, l’empereur le charge, néanmoins, de le seconder à l’entrevue d’Erfurt avec le tsar de Russie. Mauvaise idée. Talleyrand fera échouer la négociation, et expliquera qu’en manoeuvrant les deux têtes couronnées pour préserver l’équilibre européen, il avait « sauvé l’Europe d’un complet bouleversement ».

Acteur important de l’histoire de la France et de l’Europe, Talleyrand est une personnalité controversée qui fascine toujours. Autant pour ses grands talents de diplomate que pour sa surprenante adaptation aux différents régimes qui ont occupé la scène politique de son temps.

Prenant ses distances avec le pouvoir en place dès que le pire, selon lui, s’annonçait, il a donc soutenu successivement : la monarchie, la Révolution, le Directoire, le Consulat, l’Empire, la première Restauration et la Monarchie de Juillet. Aussi, cet homme qui ne manquait pas non plus d’humour, a-t-il déclaré un jour : « Je n’ai abandonné aucun gouvernement avant qu’il se fût abandonné lui-même ».

descriptif gŽnŽral et tournage TV 02 2014

Catherine Grand,
amante puis épouse de Talleyrand.
Copie de son portrait par Elisabeth Vigée-Lebrun.

Plus maligne que la réputation qui lui a été faite, la belle Catherine a connu une vie aventureuse de femme divorcée, puis entretenue, avant de séduire Charles-Maurice, au temps du Directoire. De fait, certaines portes lui sont fermées au nom de la morale, et les raisons pour lesquelles le ministre de Bonaparte l’a épousée, en 1802, demeurent l’objet de débats entre historiens. Cette union ne sera jamais reconnue par le pape et la séparation de corps sera prononcée sous la Restauration.

Si la grande capacité d’anticipation de Charles-Maurice lui a sans doute sauvé la vie et permis la longue et brillante carrière diplomatique qui l’a rendu célèbre,  elle n’a pas convaincu les dirigeants de son temps. De fait, en parallèle de ses divers accommodements avec les alternances de régimes, il a toujours tenté de faire prévaloir une pensée politique qui lui est personnelle. Hostile à l’absolutisme, à la censure, aux réglementations qui entravent le développement de la France et à la guerre, cette pensée s’enracine dans la philosophie des Lumières. Elle est porteuse de l’effervescence tous azimuts des décennies qui ont précédé la Révolution (en 1789, il avait 35 ans), et qui furent celles de sa jeunesse et de sa formation. Effervescence intellectuelle et culturelle, mais aussi économique, administrative, scientifique, tandis que, pour la première fois, la population française, de 22 millions sous règne de Louis XIV, passait à  28,5 millions sous celui de Louis XVI.

Esprit curieux de toutes choses, Talleyrand est un libéral façon XVIIIe, au sens où il défend la liberté de s’instruire, de penser et de s’exprimer tout autant que celle du commerce et d’avoir la vie la plus agréable possible. Cette « douceur de vivre » d’avant la Révolution, qu’il  s’efforcera de retrouver au cours de sa longue existence, nécessite une grande aisance financière. Né d’une famille de la haute noblesse désargentée, Charles-Maurice s’est intéressé aux questions financières dès sa jeunesse. La fréquentation d’entrepreneurs et de banquiers, son poste d’agent général du clergé, le travail avec le ministre Calonne sur les finances calamiteuses de l’Etat ont formé un homme d’affaire qui n’hésitera pas à prendre des participations dans des entreprises ni à spéculer dans l’immobilier. Devenu ministre des relations extérieures sous plusieurs régimes, il assortira des négociations qu’il voudrait  toujours avantageuses pour les deux parties, de « douceurs diplomatiques », ce qu’à notre époque nous nommons des pots-de-vins. La fortune ainsi construite lui permettra de mener grand train. Et aussi, d’acquérir, d’embellir et d’entretenir un domaine aussi important que celui de Valencay.

Le Théâtre,
un joyau magnifiquement conservé.

À la demande de l’Empereur Napoléon, Talleyrand fit construire un théâtre, inauguré le 30 mars 1810, pour distraire les princes d’Espagne en résidence forcée à Valençay. On y a donné de nombreux spectacles. La partie musicale était assurée par Jan-Ladislav Dussek (1760-1812), célèbre compositeur tchèque et grand artiste européen.

Dans ce théâtre unique en Val de Loire, les décors et toiles de fond ont aussi été conservés. Le Festival Talleyrand s’y déroule tous les deux ans.

 

Sur une terre princière…
les princes prisonniers de Napoléon

Acquis en 1803, à la demande et avec l’aide financière de Bonaparte, selon ce qu’en rapportera plus tard la duchesse de Dino, le domaine de 12000 hectares comprend alors les châteaux de Valençay, Luçay et Veuil.

Talleyrand se rendra assez peu souvent dans son domaine de Valencay après son acquisition car l’Empereur l’accapare et l’emmène dans ses expéditions européennes. Il entreprendra néanmoins sa restauration, fera bâtir des communs, aménager des jardins, un parc et un potager. Dans la période houleuse de la guerre d’Espagne, qu’il a désapprouvée après l’avoir conseillée, il retourne sur ses terres, toujours sur ordre de l’Empereur, pour y accueillir les princes d’Espagne, en tant que geôlier ! Il s’exécutera en rédigeant pour leur séjour, un règlement minutieux qui atteste d’une parfaite connaissance de l’étiquette. Il se souciera de leur confort et distractions, tout au long de leurs six ans de captivité,  alors qu’il est absent et ne ressent aucune affinité avec eux. C’est pourtant à leur intention, et sur la suggestion de Napoléon, qu’il fera construire le Théâtre que l’on peut visiter aujourd’hui.

 

1817. Talleyrand écrit
au duc de Montmorency :

« Ce n’est pas de repos que je sens le besoin, mais c’est de liberté. Faire ce que l’on veut, penser à ce qu’il plaît, suivre sa pente au lieu de chercher son chemin : voilà le vrai repos dont j’ai besoin, et celui-là, je le trouve ici. »

Dorothée de Courlande,
duchesse de Dino,

a été la compagne très aimée et estimée de Charles-Maurice de Talleyrand.
Portrait par Joseph Chabord.

Trente-neuf ans les séparent, elle est l’épouse d’Edmond, neveu de Charles-Maurice, il a été l’amant de sa mère. Mais lors du Congrès de Vienne, où elle fait les honneurs de l’ambassade de son oncle, l’amour l’emporte sur tout le reste. Quelques mois après le retour en France, cette belle femme très cultivée, dont plusieurs contemporains soulignent « l’esprit supérieur », deviendra sa compagne, son amie la plus chère, sa conseillère dans bien des domaines, y compris diplomatiques. Quelques folles passions charnelles mises à part, elle restera à ses côtés jusqu’à la disparition de l’homme qui l’a le mieux comprise et protégée.

 

Le retour de Charles-Maurice : à Valencay, la liberté !

Ecarté du pouvoir par Louis XVIII pour délit  d’opinion libérale, malgré les services rendus, Talleyrand effectue son grand retour à Valençay sous la Restauration. Dès lors, hormis pendant son ambassade en Angleterre pour Louis-Philippe, chaque année, il y passera l’été et l’automne jusqu’à l’ouverture des Chambres.

Toujours actif et entreprenant, il s’occupe de son domaine, reçoit beaucoup d’amis, lit, écrit et pense. Celui qui a contribué à l’ascension de Napoléon Bonaparte puis à la Restauration des Bourbons, qui a sauvé la France d’une débâcle assurée au Congrès de Vienne est toujours habité par une idée dont il avait déjà tenté de convaincre Louis XVI. Une idée opposée à la volonté de domination et de conquête de l’Empereur. A la tentation absolutiste  du roi et de ses zélateurs aveugles au présent comme à l’avenir. Cette idée qui prône l’instauration d’une monarchie constitutionnelle et parlementaire, à l’exemple de l’Angleterre, n’a pas séduit les chefs d’Etat qui ont eu recours à ses services.  En revanche, les aspirations à  la liberté, la justice et la prospérité qui lui sont liées, déjà présentes chez des philosophes favoris de Talleyrand tels que Montesquieu et Voltaire, trouvent un terrain propice à un début  d’application dans le vaste domaine de Valençay. En 1825, le préfet de l’Indre écrit à son ministre : « Il n’y a ni mendiant ni individu absolument nécessiteux à Valençay parce que monsieur le prince de Talleyrand a établi des ateliers où il y a du travail pour tous les âges. » Talleyrand a aussi répandu des secours en tous genres. Bureau de bienfaisance, maison de charité où des sœurs instruisent des petites filles, portent secours aux malades. Fait don d’un terrain pour construire une mairie, une justice de paix, une école de garçons …Certes, ce n’est pas encore la mise en œuvre de l’égalité inscrite dans la Déclaration des droits de l’Homme et du Citoyen dont il a rédigé l’article 6. Mais cela témoigne des convictions et de la sensibilité de cet homme impassible sur la scène publique. Un homme que ses goûts artistiques et littéraires dévoilent et dont la vivacité d’esprit, la conversation et la délicatesse de sentiments enchantent ses amis très proches.

Quelques repères
dans une longue carrière

2 février 1754
Naissance, à Paris, dans une famille de haute noblesse. Ses parents occupent des charges importantes à la Cour de Louis XV. Affecté d’un pied-bot, d’origine congénitale (le syndrome de Marfan).

1769
Privé de son droit d’aînesse du fait de son handicap par ses parents. Au lieu d’être orienté vers une carrière militaire, il est préparé à la prêtrise et deviendra agent général du clergé.

1788
Nommé évêque d’Autun et élu député du clergé aux Etats généraux où il sera membre du comité de Constitution de l’Assemblée nationale.

1792-1796
Part à Londres, revient, repart, puis s’exile aux Etats-Unis.

1797
Ministre des Relations extérieures du Directoire.

1799-1806
Prend part au coup d’Etat du 18 Brumaire. Ministre des Relations extérieures sous le Consulat, puis l’Empire. Nommé grand chambellan de Napoléon, titré prince de Bénévent.

1807-1814
Dégradation des rapports avec Napoléon. Devient conseiller de Louis XVIII, président du gouvernement provisoire, met la Charte constitutionnelle au point, nommé ministre des affaires étrangères.

1814-1815
Négocie pour la France au Congrès de Vienne.

1815
Louis XVIII le « démissionne ».

1830-1834
Nommé ambassadeur à Londres par le roi Louis-Philippe. Participe à la création de la Belgique. Signe le traité de la Quadruple Alliance entre l’Espagne, le Portugal, l’Angleterre et la France.

17 mai 1838
Décède à Paris /5 septembre 1838. Obsèques à Valençay.
 

« J’ai en moi quelque chose d’inexplicable qui porte malheur aux gouvernements qui me négligent »
— Talleyrand

Château de Valençay
2 Rue de Blois, 36600 Valençay
02 54 00 10 66